Intuition och hur vi organiserar information – Intuition and how we organize information

1760 ord/ 2190 words/ 2015 06 23
Scroll down for english version.

Om gestaltlagar, uppmärksamhet, medvetenhet och medvetandet.

flagga svenskJag placerar två flaskor intill varandra. De har likadan form, färg och storlek även etiketten är likadan och säger:
‒ Spontant när vi ser två föremål med samma form, färg och storlek så grupperar vi ihop dem i tanken. Placerar man dem dessutom intill varandra så har vi grupperat dem ännu mer tydligt. Ordet grupp, betyder ju att vi sätter samman flera föremål. Det spelar ingen roll om du är japan, europé eller afrikan det spelar ingen roll vilken kulturell bakgrund du har. Det är något vi alla gör, ser föremål som liknar varandra som en grupp.
Någon säger.
‒ Det där kallar jag intuition!
‒ Nej, det är hur vi organiserar visuell information!

Fast, han har rätt på ett sätt. Jag placerade ju flaskorna intill varandra. Dvs det kanske var rörelsen, hopfogandet han syftade på? Men jag tror inte han skiljer mellan rörelsen dvs själva hopfogandet och resultatet av det, det är inte så många som gör det.
Men – det gör jag och jag tycker att det är en mycket viktig skillnad!

När jag flyttar något, grupperar om och möblerar om, då skapar jag ett nytt sammanhang, nya rumsliga relationer. Jag komponerar. Kompositionen med flaskorna var i det här fallet visuell och rumslig. Det är vad inredare gör, det är vad vi alla gör när vi möblerar om hemma. Men en komposition kan lika gärna vara audiell och temporal som för en musiker och kompositör. I komponerandet, då används intuitionen.
Men ‒ under tiden jag komponerar, så tar jag samtidigt hela tiden ett steg tillbaka för att se hur det blir Då, analyserar jag. I analysen ser jag på det jag redan gjort, känner in det, för att se om det stämmer med mina intentioner, då använder jag mig av gestaltlagarna, som ett redskap. Gestaltlagarna är en samlingsbeteckning för hur vi organiserar visuell information, våra intryck, spontant. Det är denna spontana aktivitet som kan uppfattas vara ”intuitiv” man jag vill alltså skilja ut den från intuitionen vi använder när vi komponerar. Intuitionen vi använder när vi komponerar förstår jag som en riktning, infall och impulser, unik för varje situation medan det spontana organiserandet av visuell information är starkt kopplat till vår mänskliga fysiologi med dess begränsningar. Tyvärr jag kan ännu inte uttrycka det bättre.

Gestaltlagarna uttrycker i förenklad form likheterna i hur vi uppfattar och organiserar visuell information (sinnesdata/intryck) till stor del grundat i vår mänskliga fysiologi. Med hjälp av dem kan jag utveckla, förtydliga och förbättra min komposition.
Alltså, komponerar eller gestaltar, designar gör jag i nuet och det är beslut som riktar sig framåt i tiden. Med gestaltlagarnas hjälp kan jag analysera det jag gjort, det vill säga det redan gjorda. Min förståelse för hur designprocessen (skapandet) går till underlättas av att skilja mellan, ett, aktiviteten i nuet vars uppmärksamhet riktar sig framåt från, två, den tankeaktivitet som analyserar det redan gjorda, dvs ett resultat. Alltså, jag upprepar, att skilja mellan det som riktar sig framåt, skapandet, lösningen och det redan gjorda, analysen.
Det är jag som sätter ihop ölflaskorna, jag som komponerar som använder intuitionen, inte den som tittar på och observerar. Men i det här fallet var det inte intuitionen jag använde vid ihopfogandet av flaskorna. Intuitionen var med och öppnade en impuls att jag kan visa hur gestaltlagarna fungerar för att visa på något allmängiltigt i minnets aktivitet för alla oss människor.

Jag gissar att bakgrunden till uppkomsten av samlingsbeteckningen ”gestaltlagarna” till en del beror på att det i västerländska vetenskapliga sammanhang är viktigt att belägga, visa och bevisa. Så i slutet av 1800-talet började man inom gestaltpsykologin intressera sig för varseblivningen som ett aktivt organiserande av visuella intryck. (>>länk till Russ Deweys explanation >> länk till bok av Russ Dewey). Det var en riktning inom psykologin som till skillnad från övrig psykologi inte uppfattade seendet som ett passivt mottagande som ett fotografi, utan som ett aktivt skapande. Dvs inte uttrycken utan intrycken. Uttryck handlar om hur vi skapar och komponerar och gör våra inre världar synliga för andra. Intrycken handlar om hur vi skapar en uppfattning av världen genom varseblivningen. Jag tycker att gestaltlagarna är ett händigt verktyg för mig som gestaltare.

Gestaltningens lagar
2. Figur och grund – ex Rubins pokal
g) Närhet
h) Slutenhet
i) Likhet
j) Erfarenhet – läser in bekanta saker i främmande, tillfälliga eller abstrakta strukturer: molnformationer, olikfärgade kakelplattor, tegel, Rorschach-test, etc.
k) Pregnans- kontrasterande, tydliga former uppfattas lättare
l) Den goda gestalten- tendensen att laga och förbättra otydliga former
Nu är det så att Rudolf Arnheim (1904-2007) har skrivit fördjupat, insiktsfullt och på ett mycket tillgängligt sätt om just vårt sätt att se, dvs om varseblivning i sin bok ”Art and visual perception – A psychology of the Creative Eye” (Konst och visuell perception – Det kreativa ögats psykologi). Han delar in och utvecklar förståelsen för vår perception i rubrikerna:
• balance – balans
• shape – vi har inget svenskt ord (skepnad kanske) ”form” i en generell betydelse, samma form kan ha olika innehåll, betyda olika saker som en trekant kan betyda ett berg, en glasstrut, en pappersbit, en…
• form is the visible shape of content – form I betydelsen innehållets synliga form (shape).
• growth – växande
• space – rum
• light-ljus
• color – färg
• movement – rörelse
• dynamics –dynamik
• expressions- uttryck
Det han skriver motsäger inte de förut uppräknade och förenklade ”gestaltlagarna”, tvärtom >> länk till artikel där R. Arnheim intervjuas
Till det kommer matematiska beräkningar eller justeringar som hjärnan gör och som kan avslöjas eller göras tydliga med olika visuella trick: storlekskonstans – dvs vi förutsätter att ett föremål är lika stort även om det flyttas längre bort och därför egentligen blir mindre på ögats näthinna. Det gäller även välbekanta former. En rund tallrik uppfattas som rund även om den är elliptisk på näthinnan pga perspektivisk förskjutning. (Det här skriver R. Arnheim också om förstås.)

Dessutom, om du en gång har druckit ur en ölflaska, så tror du, det vill säga det är din förutfattade mening, att det är öl i den andra flaskan också och troligen av samma sort, fastän du inte smakat det, bara sett flaskan. Likadant om du ser en säng, en dörr, ett handtag, en postlåda eller en busshållplats. Även om du aldrig legat i just den sängen, gått genom just den dörren, dragit i just det handtaget, postat ett brev på just den postlådan eller stått vid just den här busshållplatsen – så tror du att de ”fungerar” som de du tidigare prövat.
Vad jag inte sade men som skulle behöva förtydligas är att vi sätter samman även olika föremål som en grupp, bara de placeras tillräckligt nära varandra och föremål som är lika varandra inte behöver stå intill varandra för att vi ändå ska klassificera dem att höra samman till samma grupp.

Även någon diagnostiserad med autism eller aspberger kan se och uppfatta föremålen, de rumsliga förhållandena, visuellt. Det som skiljer och som gör att man kan få en diagnos är att vid en autistisk diagnos kan man ha mer eller mindre problem med likhetskriterierna mellan objekten och deras omfattning vid grupperingarna och därmed namngivandet (varje lampa är unik) medan man vid en aspbergerdiagnos har svårt att förstå att det kan finns olika kriterier för grupperingen då man har svårare att se sin egen uppfattningsförmåga utifrån, som en av flera. Förmågan att se sig själv utifrån, mer objektivt, eller kanske man ska säga förmågan att uppfatta sin egen subjektivitet saknas mer eller mindre. Poängen jag vill göra är inte att definiera dessa två svåra diagnoser utan peka på att oavsett diagnos eller inte och oavsett kulturell bakgrund så ”ser vi och grupperar föremål, likväl som att vi delar in det vi ser i delar”-vi har det gemensamt.

Dessutom är det inte bara visuella och spatiala (rumsliga) former vi grupperar pga. likhet eller närhet utan även människor efter social ställning, politiska sympatier, etc. … Det är ett skäl till att det kan bli tomt runt den människa som av någon anledning utses till t.ex. syndabock för ett partis fall, som Mona Sahlin (Sverige 2010). Den som vill uppamma eller behålla förtroendet från väljare och partikollegor kan inte vara ”för nära” henne när förtroendet för henne faller. Risken att bli smittad är stor. Samma risk för smitta gör att konstnärer är noga med att hänga i rätt sällskap och på rätt galleri. Att bli smittad av oseriösa amatörkluddare är inget som höjer en seriös konstnärs anseende. Som förvaltare av en utställningsvägg har jag fått höra en och annan kommentar om det.

Men åter till intuitionen. Nu beskrev jag användandet av den och det mer analytiska tänkandet som en växling mellan dem. Egentligen tror jag att dessa två aktiviteter rör sig i huvudet samtidigt, men att min förmåga till uppmärksamhet begränsar mig till vara i den ena eller mer riktad mot den andra. Det var ett intressant spår att fundera vidare runt.

Ett annat exempel för att göra skillnaden tydlig mellan det analytiska och intuitiva är att när jag läser innantill, så granskar jag i viss mån texten jag skrivit för att se om den stämmer med mina intentioner (ännu ett ord att utforska) men då jag inte hunnit skriva färdigt mitt anförande utan huvuddelen egentligen består av fraser och lösryckta ord för att påminna mig om det jag vill ta upp, så får jag när jag lämnar den skrivna texten istället förlita mig på min intuition när det gäller vilka ord jag väljer när jag försöker lägga fram funderingarna runt mina frågor. Den skillnaden eller omställningen i tanken som det innebär känner väl de flesta igen?

Det var något som någon annan sade apropå korta ögonblick av >>glömska. (>>Lilla och stora mörkret.).
‒ Korta ögonblick av glömska, att det blir blankt i huvudet, kanske kan vara medvetandet som drar sig undan för att göra annat? Jag har fått förklarat för mig att det är det som ligger bakom känslan av ”deja vú”.SEdan när man så att säga kommer tillbaka så minns man det man håller på med som något man gjort tidigare.
Det där tror jag stämmer. Om jag fattade henne rätt så menar hon att det är själva tillbakadragandet och återkomsten av medvetandet eller kanske man kan säga uppmärksamheten som ger känslan av igenkännande?

För bara två dagar sedan hade jag en upplevelse av att uppmärksamheten drog sig undan, men i det här fallet fick jag inte en ”deja vú” känsla. Nej, det var lite obehagligt faktiskt.
Jag står i kassan och ska ta fram betalkortet och upptäcker att det är borta. Jag börjar febrilt tänka på när jag hade det sist och en rad olika scenarier och handlingsalternativ breder ut sig som en solfjäder medan jag förflyttar mig de två stegen bort till kortläsaren. Där sitter redan ett kort! Är det den förra kundens kort? Jag tittar på det och upptäcker att det är mitt. Det är märkligt. Jag kan inte alls minnas att jag tagit ut det ur plånboken och stoppat i det. Jag kan fortfarande inte minnas det.
Men det kan ju inte vara någon annan än jag som gjort det och som gjort det just då.

Det hade varit skönare att ha en känsla av ”deja vú” än att det är en annan människa som har plockat ur det och satt dit det.
Men det ger mig anledning att inte bara urskilja intuitionen från det analytiska tänkandet, utan också att förstå alla aktiviteter som rörelser i huvudet och att mitt medvetande och känsla av jag är förknippat med min uppmärksamhet.

Intuition and how we organize information

About laws of design, attention, awareness and the conscious of the mind.

2190 words/ 2015 06 23

flagga brittiskI place two bottles next to each other. Their shape, colour and size are equal even the label, and says:
‒ When we see two objects of the same shape, colour and size we group them in our minds. If you place them next to each other, they are grouped even more evident. The word group means putting together several objects. It does not matter whether you are Japanese, European or African, it does not matter weather cultural background you stem from. This is something we all do, see objects that looks alike to a group.
Someone says.
‒ I call that intuition!
‒ No! That is how we organize visual information!
Though, in a way he is right. I moved the bottle, placed it next to the other. That is to say, it may have been the move I made, the placing next to the other he referred to? Though I do not think he distinguishes between the move and its result, the two bottles standing next to each other- most people do not.
But I do, and I think it is an important and significant difference!

When I move something, regrouping and refurnishing, then I create a new context, new spatial relationships. I compose. The composition with the bottles was in this case visual and spatial. That is what an interior designer does, that is what we all do when refurnishing in our homes. But a composition can just as well be audial and temporal as for a musician and composer. When composing, intuition is used.

But – meanwhile I compose, I take steps back to see what it looks like. Then I analyze. When analyzing I look upon what I have done, feeling it, checking it out to figure out whether it matches my intentions, then I make use of “gestaltlagarna” (laws of design), as a tool.

“Gestaltlagarna” is a unifying designation for how we organize visual information, our impressions, spontaneously. It is this spontaneous activity that can be perceived as “intuitive”, but I want to distinguish it from the intuition we use when composing. Intuition we use while composing I understand as an aim, an impulse, unique to every situation while the spontaneous organizing of visual information is strongly connected to our human physiology and its limitations. Alas, I cannot express the difference better than this- yet.

“Gestaltlagarna” is a simplified form to express the equalities in how we perceive and organize visual information (sense data) mainly founded in our human physiology. With their help I can enhance and improve my composition making it more significant.
So, I compose or design in the present, making decisions aiming ahead in time. “Gestaltlagarna” (Laws of design) are a help to analyze what I have done, the already done – past tense. My understanding of how the process of designing works (creating) is made easier by distinguishing between, first, the activity of the mind in the present whose attention aim forward from, – second, the activity of thoughts who analyzes the already done, a result.

So, I repeat, to distinguish between the activity aiming forward, the creating, the Solutionmaking from the already done, the Analyze.
It is I who puts the bear bottles together, I as composer who uses the intuition, not the person who watch and observe. In this case I did not use intuition to put the bottles together. Intuition opened up and gave me an impulse how to show, how the laws of design (gestaltlagarna) works as something we all have in common in our memory processing as humans.

I guess that the background to the invention of a unifying designation like “gestaltlagarna” (laws of design) is partly due to the importance to prove and find proof to give statements any significance in our western scientifically based society. So in the end of the 1900 century a line within the school of psychology of perception started to explore perception as an active organizing of visual impressions, “Gestalt psychology” (>>link to Russ Deweys explanation >> link to book by Russ Dewey). It was a line which in contrast to psychologists in overall and also common understanding in society, saw the seeing not as a passive reception of impressions as a camera, but as a creative act.
Remember, this is about the impressions not the expressions. Expressions is about how we compose and make our inner worlds, our personal perception available visible for others to take part of. Impressions is about how we create a view of the world through one’s personal percept. (Of course it is not only our physiology who shapes it.)For me as a designer, the laws of design (gestaltlagarna) is a handy tool.

The laws of design, ”Gestaltningens lagar”
1. Figure and ground – for example >>Rubin’s goblet.
a) Closeness
b) Enclosure
c) Likeness
d) Experience – to see familiar forms in unfamiliar, occasional or abstract structures: formation of clouds, different coloured tiles, bricks, the Rorschach test, and so on.
e) Significance – contrasting, evident and pregnant shapes are perceived easier.
f) The law of good shape – the tendency to mend and improve vague and unclear shapes.
Well now, Rudolf Arnheim has written penetrating and insightfull and in a very easy manner about our way of seeing, i.e. about perception in his book ”Art and visual perception – A psychology of the Creative Eye” (Konst och visuell perception – Det kreativa ögats psykologi). He divides and develop the understanding under the following headlines:
• balance – balans
• shape – The impression of the shape regardless its content. (we have no words in swedish to distinguish between shape and form)
• form is the visible shape of content.
• growth
• space
• light
• color
• movement
• dynamics
• expressions
What he writes does not contradict the earlier enumerated simplified ”laws of design (gestalt)”. (The word “gestalt” does not translate well into English, the word “design” is too much associated to the act of creating expressions.) – on the contrary,>> here is a link to an article in which R. Arnheim is interviewed.
Added to that is the mathematical calculations and adjustments the brain does without us being aware of them, but which can be revealed and made visible by different visual tricks: the persistent of shape – that is to say that we are taking for granted that the size of an object is the same nonetheless how far or close we are considering that its size on the retina is changing. This also applies to wellknown shapes. A round plate is perceived round even if it in reality is elliptic on the retina due to displacement of perspective. (This R. Arnheim also adress.)

Besides that, if you once have had bear out of a bottle, you would probably assume, that is to say, you probably will have a prejudice (or a preconceived idea) about other bottles who looks the same, even though you have not drank from it, simply seen the bottle. You will probably make assumptions grounded like that, grounded on your earlier experiences when you see a bed, a door, a doorknob, a postbox or a bus stop. Even though you have never slept in that bed, gone through that door, pulled that knob handle, posted a letter on that postbox or been standing waiting for the bus at that bus stop – you will assume that the “work” the same way as the ones you tried earlier.
What I did not say but should be emphasized is that we put together different objects to a group, simply by placing then close enough. And also object who are similar or show likeness does not need to be placed next to each other to be considered belonging to the same group.

Even someone diagnosed with autism or Asperger are capable to perceive the objects, the spatial relationships, visually. What differs and may be a cause to get an autistic diagnose is that you can have more or less problems with the criteria’s of likeness between objects and their extent in grouping and therefore it is hard to give “the group” a name or to know what is counted into “the group” (each lamp is unique) while an Asperger diagnose is extinguished because the difficulty to understand that there can be different criteria’s for the grouping since you have difficulties to understand your own way of perception from an outside perspective, as one of many. The ability to look upon yourself from outside, more objectively, or one might say the ability to perceive oneselfe’s own subjectivity, is more or less lacking.
The point I will make however, is not to try to define these two hard diagnoses, but to point out that regardless diagnose or not and regardless cultural background we do see and group objects, as well as we divide what we see in parts” – that is something we all have in common. (Even if we do not divide in the same places from one person to another.)

Furthermore, it is not only visual and spatial shapes and forms we group out from likeness and closeness but also people. We group ourselves out from social ranking, gender, skin, political sympathies, and so on. That is one reason why it may become empty and lonely around a person put to be, for example, the scapegoat for a political party’s downfall, like Mona Sahlin in Sweden 2010. Anyone who wants to nurse or keep his or hers trust from voters and colleges in the party cannot be too close to her when the trust for her vanishes. The risk for contamination is too big. The same risk for being contaminated (=put in the same group) makes artists to be vigilant and very particular about who they hang together with and on which art galleries. The risk of being contaminated with unprofessional untalented amateur painters is nothing that will raise a professional artist’s reputation. As caretaker of a wall for exhibitions I have heard my share of comments about that.

Back to intuition. Now I described the ”use” of intuition and the more analytical thinking as a succession between them. In reality I think that these two activities is going on simultaneously in our heads, but my ability to attention limits me to be either in one or be pointed to the other. This is an interesting thought trail to explore further …
Another example to clarify the difference between the analytical and intuitiv is when I read a text aloud, I scrutiny the text at some extent perhaps making some improvements along my reading in order to make it more fit to my intentions (yet another word to explore) but since I did not finish writing my speech, only noted some phrases and disconnected words as reminders I have to continue improvising depending on my intuition when it comes to what word I will use when I try to put forward my thoughts. That conversion in the mind which it requires I guess most of you can recognize?

It was something someone said regarding short moments of >>oblivion. (>>Little and vast darkness.)
‒ Short moments of oblivion, when the mind turns blank, might be the conscious withdrawing to do something else? When it comes back we get the feeling of having experienced whatever situation we are in, as something experienced earlier, a feeling of “déjà vu”. That is the explanation I have heard to that feeling.

I definitely think there is something into that. That the activity of the mind, the memory or whatever it can be, withdraws to a place where the attention and selfawareness does not follow? And if I got her right, she means that it is the withdrawal and the coming back of the mind (or maybe it is the attention?) that gives the sense of familiarity, of having had this experience already.

Only two days ago I had an experience of the withdrawal of attention, but in this case I did not get a déjà vu feeling. No, in fact it was a bit unpleasant actually.
I am standing at the desk in the supermarket, and is on my way to pay with my paycard when I discovers it is gone. Frantically I start to search my mind of when I used it last time and where. A row of different scenarios of what to do is starting to spread like a fan in my head while I move the two steps towards the cardreader. There is already a card in its slot! Is it the former customer’s card? I look at it and discovers that it is mine. Strange. I cannot remember, at all, taking it out of my wallet and putting it into the cardreaders slot. Still, two days later, I cannot remember doing it. Afterall, it can hardly have been someone else but me who have done it right then and there.

It would have been nicer with a sense of déjà vu than the sense of another person, taking it out and putting it the slot.
These observations and occasions does not only give me a reason to distinguish intuition from analytical thinking, but also to understand all activities as “moves” in my head and that my conscious and sense of being me is associated with my attention. –or?

Comment/Kommentera

